Sorry for the long absence + CNN’s boxing error

Hey guys!

Apologies for the long lay-off. I was just a bit busy adjusting to my new job. Expect Underdog Boxing to be more active in the coming days!

Anyway, I was browsing through boxing articles earlier when I ran into a piece by CNN. Here’s the link http://edition.cnn.com/2010/SPORT/10/28/boxing.pacquiao.roach.margarito/

I just think that it is absolutely depressing that CNN doesn’t take boxing seriously anymore. They probably just sent a writer there who was more or less clueless about boxing to write about Pacquiao because writing about him generates hits.

The writer thought that Pacquiao was defending his super-welterweight title. My gosh. He didn’t even bother to check what title Pacquiao was holding. A simple look at boxrec.com would have solved this problem. I think this just shows how the world sees boxing. All of us boxing would argue to the death that boxing is doing fine. Then you see CNN, one of the most respected news organizations in the whole world, make an elementary error in an article about the sport’s best fighter.

Would CNN make an error as glaring as this in an NBA article? I think not.

Anyway, next up will be my Boxing at the Bay article and then I’ll share my thoughts on the Pacquiao-Margarito match.

Hopefully, I can get tickets for Boxing at the Bay 5 to give away again.

Thank you for your continued support of Underdog Boxing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

