Underdog Boxing Picks: Warriors, Marquez vs Katsidis

Wow. I had a horrible picks this week. Here’s a quick list of the fights and my predictions.

Picks I got wrong

First off, Nate Campbell chose to retire mid-fight and the result was a UD loss to journeyman Walter Estrada. I thought Campbell, even though he’s only a shell of himself, would have enough to beat Estrada because the simple fact is that Estrada lost all the fights he had against big-named fighters. I never thought he’d had it in him to beat Campbell.

Second, I picked Celestino Caballero to win against Jason Litzau. Yes, I am wrong but I’m very happy to be wrong in this case. As I’ve aid in my last article, I’d be rooting for him to win. Litzau is not a better fighter than Caballero but he undoubtedly has the bigger heart. The American didn’t stop attacking Caballero and won rounds just by being the more active fighter.

Picks I (kind of) got right

I pick the right winners in Andre Berto and Erislandy Lara but I missed in terms of how they’d win. I picked Berto to win by UD and Lara to win by KO in the sixth round but both dispatched their overmatched opponents in just one round.

Pick I got right

Juan Manuel Marquez (and Kenny Bayless) saved the day for me as he won over Michael Katsidis by TKO. Sure, I was off by a round as I picked TKO10 but i’ll count this as a victory for me. The fight went exactly how I thought it would except for Katsidis’ big left that floored Marquez in the third round. JMM controlled the tempo but he was allowing himself to get more than the usual in an effort to sell the fight and his performance for a shot at Pacquiao.

My next pick: Drian Francisco KO6 over Duangpetch Kokitgym. Follow me on twitter @carlo_pamintuan and @solarsports as I’ll be providing live updates on this fight later, at around 2:30 PM.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

