Can Erik Morales do the impossible?

Let me start by saying that I am a big Erik Morales fan. The guy is a true legend. I’ve rooted for him on all of his fights against the ones against Manny Pacquiao and I have to admit that I felt a sense of sadness watching him lose to Pacquiao.

His career should have been over after losing to David Diaz; it was his fourth straight loss. But you all know how boxers are. Very few of them do not know when it is time to hang their gloves up. The few who actually figure it out refuse to accept it. They try to hang on to their former glory and no one can blame them. Boxing is something they have done all their lives and the thought of not being able to do it anymore hurts them.

Morales battle-cry in this comeback is that he wants to be the first Mexican to win four titles in four different divisions. He is racing against Marco Antonio Barrera, Juan Manuel Marquez, and Mother Time.

This sunday, he will fight Marcos Maidana, a dangerous light welterweight who has tremendous knockout power. El Terrible’s team wanted to fight Maidana because of his flaws. He is a very rough technical skills and he is slow. Morales thinks he can exploit these weaknesses and get a win.

I have no doubt in my mind that Morales knows how to beat Maidana. My only worry is that his war-torn body may not be able to turn those ideas into action.

I fear for Morales’ well-being in this fight.

Will I skip watching it?

Nope.

Like a true-blue Morales fan, I will be intently watching and waiting for another miracle. But if this ends up being the last time we see Morales in the ring, I’d probably spend the evening watching his old classic fights. Back in the times when Morales fought like this

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

